Cristina Iglesias wins 2020 Royal Academy Architecture Prize

London’s Royal Academy of Arts has named Spanish artist Cristina Iglesias the winner of its 2020 architecture prize for her urban sculptures in public spaces. This is the third year the 2020 Royal Academy Architecture Prize has been awarded. Previous winners are Diller Scofidio + Renfro founders Elizabeth Diller and Ricardo Scofidio, and Japanese architect […]

Ross Lovegrove creates crystal trophy with internal double helix for Fashion Awards 2019

Ross Lovegrove has designed this year’s Fashion Awards trophy, which consists of a laser-cut DNA double helix that appears to be suspended inside a monolithic crystal. The Welsh designer was commissioned by the British Fashion Council and Swarovski to create the award, which will be handed out during an awards ceremony in London’s Royal Albert […]

Junya Ishigami’s Japanese water garden wins €100,000 Obel Award

Art Biotop Water Garden, an artificial landscape by Junya Ishigami near the Nasu Mountains in Japan, has won the inaugural Obel Award. The new international prize of €100,000 (£86,000) – making it one of the world’s richest architecture prizes – is given by the Henrik Frode Obel Foundation to a project completed in the last […]

2020 RIBA International Prize grand jury announced

Studio Gang founder Jeanne Gang and Rossana Hu, co-founder of Neri&Hu, have joined jury chair Odile Decq on the grand jury of the 2020 RIBA International Prize. Gustavo Utrabo, who won the 2018 RIBA International Prize and Emerging Architect Prize, is also on the jury for the awards programme, for which Dezeen is a media […]

Grafton Architects wins 2020 RIBA Royal Gold Medal

Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara, co-founders of Grafton Architects, are the first all-woman pair to be awarded the 2020 RIBA Royal Gold Medal for Architecture. They are the fourth and fifth female architects to have won the prestigious award in a partnership. There has still only been one woman – Zaha Hadid – named sole […]

Tom Dixon awarded London Design Medal 2019

Designer Tom Dixon has been awarded the London Design Medal at this year’s British Land Celebration of Design Awards, which also sees Vivienne Westwood, Daniel Charny and Ross Atkin commended for their work. Dixon is one of four creatives who will receive medals at the British Land Celebration of Design, which takes place on 16 September […]

David Chipperfield and Karakusevic Carson Architects shortlisted for inaugural Neave Brown Award for Housing

Four projects have been shortlisted for the first Neave Brown Award for Housing including a housing estate designed by David Chipperfield Architects and Karakusevic Carson Architects. The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) introduced the prize to honour architect Neave Brown, a pioneer of social housing who died in 2018. The Colville Estate designed by David Chipperfield […]

Dezeen Awards 2019 architecture longlist announced

An art gallery built into a sand dune, a house on the Great Wall of China and Europe’s first underwater restaurant are among 267 architecture projects that made the 2019 longlist for Dezeen Awards. We attracted over 4,500 entries from 87 different countries for the second edition of our awards programme, which celebrates the world’s best […]

AIA announces winners of Small Project Awards 2019

BIG’s tiny cabin in Upstate New York, a prayer room in Arizona and an outdoor toilet with gabion walls are among the 12 winners of this year’s AIA Small Projects awards. Announced today, the annual American Institute of Architects Small Projects Awards recognises small and low-budget projects completed in the USA over the past year. […]

Dezeen Awards named Best New Awards Event

Dezeen Awards has won the title of Best New Awards Event at the Awards Awards 2019, for creating a winners’ ceremony that “would be remembered”. The award was given for the celebration of the first ever Dezeen Awards held at the Tate Modern in November 2018. “In a saturated market, the organisers made their mark extremely well for this […]

Social housing revamp in Bordeaux wins Mies van der Rohe Award 2019

The European Union has awarded its annual architecture prize to Transformation of 530 Dwellings, a renovation of 1960s housing in France by Frédéric Druot Architecture, Lacaton & Vassal Architectes and Christophe Hutin Architecture. The trio of architecture practices wins the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award for the project that saw them restore […]

Aga Khan Award 2019 shortlist features projects in Djibouti, Palestine and Bahrain

A wooden water tower, a nature reserve, and a microlibrary made from recycled ice cream tubs are some of the projects on the shortlist for the Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2019. Twenty projects from 16 different countries have been shortlisted for the award, established in 1977 by the Aga Khan Foundation to “encourage building concepts […]

UFC 240 Fight Live Reddit